top of page

The Team

FABSCOM 2022 Officers

Battalion Chief Jim Resnick_edited.png

James Resnick

FABSCOM President

Jim has been a fire and rescue service professional and fire safety educator in Montgomery County, MD for more than 45 years.  He has been a volunteer member of the Bethesda-Chevy Chase Rescue Squad since 1975 where he currently serves as a Life Captain.  He also worked as a full-time, career firefighter and paramedic for 28 years for the Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service (MCFRS), retiring with the rank of Battalion Chief in 2014.  In his “retirement”, he has served as a contractor for the MCFRS as the Program Manager for Senior Outreach and Education.  


In 2016 Jim received the prestigious John C. Spiker, Sr Life Safety Educator of the Year award at the Mid-Atlantic Life Safety Conference.  In his current role, Jim has provided educational programs to more than 10,000 Montgomery County seniors on a variety of fire and injury-prevention topics.  Also, Jim has completed more than 2,000 home safety and smoke alarms checks, and he has lead teams that have done thousands more.

Jim is a lifelong Montgomery County resident He has a Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Maryland – Baltimore County (UMBC – Go Retrievers!)  Jim is an avid baseball fan with his allegiance split between the Orioles and the Nationals and he likes spending time with his wife, Beth, his kids Andrew, Ben, and Phillip, and his dog, Benji.  

Debbie Gartrell-Kemp

Vice President

Debbie currently works for the National Fire Academy in Emmitsburg, MD.  She has been an active volunteer in the Carroll County Fire Service since 1986, serving Winfield and Mt. Airy fire companies.  She also worked as a career Firefighter/EMT/Hazmat Tech with the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory Fire Department for 10 years.  

Debbie has received numerous awards for her prevention and life safety work over the years to include the John C. Spiker, Sr. Excellence in Life Safety Educator of the Year Award, Right Care When It Counts Award from MIEMSS, Jane Todd Firewoman of the Year Award and Silver Spring Awards. 

She holds an AA degree in Emergency Services Fire Science, graduated from the Managing Officer Program at the National Fire Academy, and is a Fire Educator III and Instructor II through MFRI.   

She has held numerous positions in the volunteer fire service, including membership chair, Assistant Secretary, chair of the Winfield fire prevention committee for numerous years, chair of the Mt. Airy fire prevention committee for five years, Carroll County fire prevention chair for six years, EMS Lieutenant and Vice President.  Currently, she serves on the following:  Fire and Burn Safety Coalition of Maryland (FABSCOM), Mid-Atlantic Life Safety Conference (MALSC), MSFA Prevention & Life Safety, Safe Kids and Winfield VFD Board of Directors.

Debbie Gartrell Kemp 8x10 small.jpg

Brian Quick


Brian Quick has been an active member of Reisterstown Fire Company for 26 years and the Westminster Fire Department for 7 years.  Brian has been the treasurer for FABSCOM since 2014 and the Reisterstown Fire Company for 20 years.

Teresa Ann Crisman


Teresa serves in PIO/Public Affairs - performing Community Risk Reduction duties with the Office of the Maryland State Fire Marshal. Prior to that she was Community Risk Reduction manager with Prince George's County Fire Department since 2001. Teresa has a deep history of volunteering in many capacities both with Greenbelt and Branchville Volunteer Fire Department and has served for a number of years on the Maryland State Firemen's Association Fire Prevention Committee. She became a go to person from a young age and helped at events all over Prince Georges County with the County Fire Department. Teresa has also served as President of the Ladies Auxiliary to the Maryland State Fireman’s Association (LAMSFA).

bottom of page